The art of Graffiti

Is graffiti art or vandalism? In my opinion graffiti is one of the best forms of Art. When I am speaking about graffiti I’m not talking about just some random stuff some delinquent put on the side of a restaurant. I’m talking about the beautiful art form that many people in urban neighborhoods use to express themselves. Many people associate graffiti with simple gang tags on the side of a building and they say that it lacks creativity. While I agree that some forms of tagging lack a sense of creativity, the big picturesque murals that are seen around Urban neighborhoods in places like New York,  LA, or Chicago are in my opinion some of the most beautiful pieces of artworks I have ever seen in my life. And to be perfectly honest not all forms of tagging are bad. If you asked three different graffiti artist named Eric to write their name you would get three different styles of how to write the word Eric. The way in which each artist interprets the alphabet and the use of different colors or maybe the use of an avatar to represent who they are is  what makes graffiti a beautiful art form. While some people take issue with the fact that graffiti is illegal so therefore it can’t be art I think that many graffiti artists use it to make political or even economical statement. To be honest I don’t put great value in the opinions of those people who claim graffiti  is not art because they’re the same people who can stare at a black Square and say it has some deeper meaning. Graffiti is one of the most beautiful forms of artwork there is in the world and the fact that more graffiti paintings aren’t displayed museums in my opinion is a great travesty.

Leave a comment